Home   •   Online CE   •   Find a Therapist   •   Legislative Issues   •   Members Area



Mental Health Liaison Group Members


Linda Whitten, Charles Konigsberg


Legislative Alert: Medicaid Reconciliation Bill


January 23, 2006

The Medicaid reconciliation bill will return to the Floor of the House for a vote on February. Please see the following message from the Campaign for Mental Health Reform and do what you can to help.

As you know, the House of Representatives is scheduled to vote on S. 1932, the Budget Reconciliation bill on February 1st.

As part of our advocacy effort to defeat the bill, the Campaign has established January 31 as NATIONAL MENTAL HEALTH CALL CONGRESS DAY.

All of our Campaign Partners will send out urgent email alerts prior to the 31st urging their members located in specific congressional districts to call their Member of Congress on Tuesday, January 31st and ask them to vote against S. 1932 because it would cut back access to vital mental health services.

This is important -- we need their phones ringing off the hook on Tuesday January 31st.

Below is a list of representatives to call (including their direct phone numbers) organized by state.  These offices have been selected because they are republicans who previously voted for the bill, but might consider voting against it.

Please forward this email to the MHLG so we can have a united national effort on January 31st.

Best Regards,

Charles S. Konigsberg
Executive Director, Campaign for Mental Health Reform
1050 17th St, NW, Ste 600
Wash DC 20036
202-587-2984 (ph)  202-587-2983 (fax)

  • American Academy of Child & Adolescent Psychiatry
  • American Psychiatric Association
  • American Psychological Association
  • CHADD Children and Adults with Attention-Deficit/Hyperactivity Disorder
  • Depression and Bipolar Support Alliance (DBSA)
  • Federation of Families for Children's Mental Health (FFCMH)
  • Judge David L. Bazelon Center for Mental Health Law*
  • National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI)*
  • National Association of County Behavioral Health and Developmental Disability Directors (NACBHD)
  • National Association of State Mental Health Program Directors (NASMHPD)*
  • National Council for Community Behavioral Healthcare (NCCBH)
  • National Empowerment Center (NEC) ; *National Mental Health Association (NMHA)
  • National Mental Health Consumers Self-Help Clearinghouse
  • Suicide Prevention Action Network USA (SPAN USA)
  • United States Psychiatric Rehabilitation Association (USPRA)


*Indicates Board of Directors


John Boozman (Ark) 202-225-4301
Mary Bono (CA) 202-225-5330
Nancy Johnson (Conn) 202-225-4476
Chris Shays (Conn) 202-225-5541
Robert Simmons (Conn) 202-225-2076
Mike Castle (Del)* 202-225-4165
Ginny Brown-Waite (Fla.)* 202-225-1002
Lincoln Diaz-Balart (Fla.)* 202-225-4211
Mark Foley (Fla.)* 202-225-5792
Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (Fla.)* 202-225-3931
Phil Gingrey (Ga.)* 202-225-2931
Butch Otter (Idaho)* 202-225-6611
Mike Simpson (Idaho)* 202-225-5531
John Shimkus (Ill.)* 202-225-5271
Wayne Gilchrest (Md.)* 202-225-5311
Vernon Ehlers (Mich.)* 202-225-8311
Thaddeus McCotter (Mich.)* 202-225-8171
Candice Miller (Mich.)* 202-225-2106
Joe Schwarz (Mich.)* 202-225-6276
Fred Upton (Mich.)* 202-225-3761
Gil Gutknecht (Minn.) 202-225-2472
Jim Ramstad (Minn) 202-225-2871
Dennis Rehberg (Mont.)* 202-225-3211
Jo Ann Emerson (Mo.)* 202-225-4404
Howard Coble (NC)* 202-225-3065
Robin Hayes (NC)* 202-225-3715
Walter Jones (NC) 202-225-3415
Frank LoBiondo (NJ)* 202-225-6572
Jim Saxton (NJ)* 202-225-4765
Sherwood Boehlert (NY) 202-225-3665
Vito Fossella (NY) 202-225-3371
Sue Kelly (NY)* 202-225-5441
Randy Kuhl (NY)* 202-225-3161
John Sweeney (NY) 202-225-5614
James Walsh (NY) 202-225-3701
Paul Gillmor (Ohio)* 202-225-6405
Ralph Regula (Ohio)* 202-225-3876
Charles Dent (PA)* 202-225-6411
Mike Fitzpatrick (PA)* 202-225-4276
Jim Gerlach (PA) 202-225-4315
Todd Platts (PA)* 202-225-5836
Curt Weldon (PA)* 202-225-2011
Jo Ann Davis (VA) 202-225-4261
Tom Davis (VA)* 202-225-1492
Dave Reichert (Wash.)* 202-225-7761
Shelley Moore Capito (WV)* 202-225-2711
Mark Green (Wis.) 202-225-5665

Back to Mental Health Issues Index


Top of this Page

Copyright ©2007 AmericanPsychotherapy.com - All Rights Reserved.  -  Contact Us

American Psychotherapy Association
2750 E. Sunshine St.
Springfield, MO 65804
(800) 205-9165
(417) 823-9959 fax
Mon-Thu 8-5pm
Fri 8-12pm CST